Yes Please, Amy Poehler

I brought this home from work, for the school holiday. I brought home six books, and this is the only one I’ve read – I got two pages into another and gave up, and I got distracted reading one of my own books, and also I spent a week skiing (more on that soon). I started it at Oslo airport (sidenote: Oslo airport is my favourite, it’s so open and clean and easy to navigate and calm and light and I love it), read three quarters of it on the flight, and finished it in bed the following night.

I don’t follow Amy Poehler enough. I haven’t seen enough of her work. I need to fix that. I loved this book. I loved her honesty. I loved the soundbites and double-spread mottos (in bold letters on a background of a bright colour, things like “if it’s not funny, you don’t have to laugh.”). I loved the personal photographs, and the photoshoot ones. I loved how she tells stories – like I do, getting sidetracked and adding details that then need to be explained. I loved that she got other people to write parts of her book for her. I loved the part called “Reasons we cry on an airplane”, which made me cry on an airplane. I loved her jokes and her absolute seriousness. I didn’t, though, like all the drug chat. That was too much, and it got in the way.

I’m going to buy it, to read when I’m sad or stuck or in need of some grownup talking-to, and so that my dad can read it, at his own pace (he’s slow at books), and so that I can quote bits of it whenever I like.

Other categories that Yes Please fits into: a funny book, a book by a female author, a book of short stories (kinda), a book set in a different country, a non-fiction book, a book you can finish in a day (if I’d had a longer flight, I would have!), a book that made you cry, a book by an author you’ve never read before

3 thoughts on “Book challenge #8: A memoir

Leave a Reply

