A few weeks ago, my friend Lauren went to the new Lush on Oxford Street, and was very excited, so I asked her to get me something fun. Her rediscovery of Lush (which was full-blown when she was about 11 – read about it here -, then calmed down) is delightful, and it’s rubbed off on me a bit. Sometimes what you really need is a nice-smelling bath. So she got me a shark-infested custard, and an Experimenter. I was pleased, but decided I would save it for a really sad day, because on a sad day, a helpful solution is something very colourful and preferably also glittery, and time to hang out with a book and ignore the world for a bit. And last week, I needed it. So I ran a very hot bath, dropped it in, and squealed with such delight that both my parents came to see what was up. And then we all stood in the bathroom and watched it dissolve. What can I say, we’re a cool bunch.

The combination of the colours, the wonderful smell, the glitter that collected in the creases of my elbows, and my current book (Five Quarters Of The Orange, by Joanne Harris, which was one of the books I received in my Reading Survival Kit from Books Are My Bag in October – a longer post about that coming soon! Update: here it is) made me feel so much better. One of the issues with reading lots of books from work is the fear that I’ll drop it in the bath, so it was nice to not have to worry as it’s one of my own books… though I’ve never actually done it so maybe I need to chill out.

This week, as it’s half term, I’m going to Wales with Lauren to climb Mount Snowdon, so depending on the weather we might have a whole load of reading time, so now I have to decide reasonably how many to take with me. Argh! The drama, every time. We also went to Manchester on Friday, to see a friend for a space-themed party (I was a galaxy – there was way more glitter than you can see in these pictures – and Lauren was Lumpy Space Princess). The thing is, I really love going on trains, and looking out the window, about as much as I love books so I guess I’ll just wait and see which wins out this time!

So it’s all go!

3 thoughts on “In baths, on trains

  1. Hello! Your blog is SO lovely and I am definitely going to have to try that lush product! I just started a fashion, beauty & lifestyle blog and would love if you would check it out! Kyra Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

