The Apple Tart Of Hope, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

“Hope is never destructive,” I said. “Hope is the thing that keeps you going.” I really meant it. You need hope as surely as you need to breathe air and drink water. Without it every one of us might as well fling ourselves off the pier into the murky sea below.

This was one of the books in my BAMB bundle, and I took it away with me for the weekend, as an alternative to Her Brilliant Career, which I am also reading, in case I needed something lighter. So I ended up reading it all yesterday, and I loved it.

The Apple Tart Of Hope starts with a memorial service for Oscar Dunleavy, missing, presumed dead, thought to have killed himself. His best friend Meg and his little brother Stevie don’t believe this, and pick up the search where everyone else seems to have left off, revealing past events along the way, including Oscar’s love of baking apple tarts, and how he used to give them to people who were in need of  a friend.

I found this novel charming, and warming, and thoroughly enjoyable. It celebrates difference, and intuition, and (unsurprisingly) hope, and shows that things aren’t quite as they might seem. I loved it.

Other categories that The Apple Tart Of Hope fits into: a book published this year (in paperback), a book by a female author, a mystery or thriller, a book set in a different country, a book a friend recommended, a book set in the future, a book set in high school, a book by an author you’ve never read before

3 thoughts on “Book challenge #21: A book you can finish in a day

Leave a Reply

