IMG_6330

The Ecliptic, Benjamin Wood

This was the proof that Chloe gave me on #bookshopcrawl day, and it’s been looming, waiting for me. I took it on holiday with me, and devoured it over two days, two afternoons and evenings while I was on holiday with my family. I can’t remember the last time I read a book that big so fast.

It took me a little while to get into it, but as soon as I realised that, really, the story was more about Knell than Fullerton, I was hooked. It clawed me in and got inside my head and, several weeks later, I’m still thinking about it, about its depiction of art and artists and mental illness and love and the urge some people have to just disappear and the search for something More. I don’t want to give too much away, because the unravelling discovery was glorious, but the book trailer (below) is really great. I usually find jumping between past and present irritating, but I found it incredibly effective here, adding to the mystery and the confusion perfectly. It is compelling and unsettling and difficult and entertaining and I urge you to read it.

Other categories that The Ecliptic fits into:  a book published this year, a mystery or thriller, a book set in a different country, a book a friend recommended, a book that scares you

7 thoughts on “Book challenge 24: A book by an author you’ve never read before

    1. I’ve not decided yet, I’m probably going to raid our graphic novels section at work when I go back next week. Have you read any Lucy Knisley? I love hers, my favourite is French Milk. Also ‘Friends With Boys’ by Faith Erin Hicks is really great. I also really like A Taste Of Chlorine by Bastien Vives, it’s really beautiful. Hope you find something you like!

      Like

Leave a Reply

