Other Girl, Nicole Burstein

Louise and Erica have been best friends since forever. They’re closer than sisters and depend on each other for almost everything. Just one problem: Erica has superpowers.

When Erica isn’t doing loop-the-loops in the sky or burning things with her heat pulse powers, she needs Louise to hold her non-super life together. After all, the girls still have homework, parents and boys to figure out. But being a superhero’s BFF is not easy, especially as trouble has a way of seeking them out. Soon Louise discovers that Erica might be able to survive explosions and fly faster than a speeding bullet, but she can’t win every fight by herself.

Life isn’t a comic book – it’s even crazier than that.

I bought this on the #bookshopcrawl, having asked Chloe for a book that would make me happy (admittedly, that was only maybe six weeks before I read it, but I needed a category for this book, so), and it delivered. Best friends, superpowers, real life getting in the way, I loved it. It’s a different take on the usual superhero story, because it comes from Louise’s point of view, where she has to deal with the consequences but gets none of the excitement, or the credit. I love how it doesn’t pretend that teen girls are taken seriously, and how much trouble that can cause, and that the story is solid even without the superpowers: the issues caused by friends growing apart, by new boyfriends and family problems, things that happen all over the place, all the time. It’s believable, and it made it real. And I love when magical/superhero/etc stories feel like they could be real – it takes me back to when I first read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and was convinced I could get to Narnia through my own wardrobe (still waiting on that) – because so many just don’t, and while that doesn’t make a bad book, at all, it’s wonderful when they’re as real as this.

I’m going to pass it on to my friend’s little sister, who’s coming up for 14, and I can’t wait to hear what she thinks of it, too.

Other categories that Other Girl fits into: a book by a female author, a mystery or thriller, a book a friend recommended, a book you own but have never read

2 thoughts on “Book challenge #26: A book you own but have never read

Leave a Reply

