Displaying IMG_6686.JPG

Kitchen, Nigella Lawson

I have a bit of a thing for cookbooks. I had to put myself on a cookbook ban, and the only new ones I’ve had since I put myself on it have been gifts from other people. But last week, I went into Foyles in Stratford, and I had a bit of an accident. As well as buying myself a couple of novels, and The Art of Fielding for my auntie (to make sure that she reads it, because it’s wonderful), and then I slipped and fell into the cookbook section. Whoops. I even got my brother to get two cookbooks, as well – another student one so that he maybe gets some variety in his diet, and a Mexican one, so that he can make me nice dinners. It was a good day.

I don’t regret breaking the cookbook ban, though, because I love this. I read it on the tube on the way home, and then around the house for a couple of days. I looked vaguely ridiculous, but I love the way that Nigella writes. I love that she encourages laziness in the kitchen, because it makes everyone happier, and I love the way that she admits to things that we all do. I didn’t read all the recipes, but I read all the other bits, the ones about kitchen utensils and the passages between recipes, and they’re gorgeous. I’ve already made the turkey meatballs, and the lemon and rocket couscous that she suggests having with it, and really enjoyed both cooking and eating those.

Now that summer is coming to a close and I’m going back to work for the autumn next week, I’m going to try to use my cookbook collection, including this one, to stave off the blues that creep in with the dark evenings, and the cold, by eating well and cooking properly, and not giving in too often to being lazy with my cooking, and so being less satisfied with what I’m eating. Because I love cooking, and I love feeding people, but it’s easy to forget when I’m in Sainsburys on a miserable Thursday afternoon and a bit tired. So my fingers are firmly crossed as I hope that Nigella will help with that.

Other categories that Kitchen fits into: a book with more than 500 pages, a book by a female author, a book with a one word title, a book of short stories, a book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet, a memoir

5 thoughts on “Book challenge #27: A nonfiction book

Leave a Reply

