Next Thursday, 8th October, is the launch of Books Are My Bag 2015, which will continue right up until Christmas. Last year, BAMB sent me a Reading Survival Kit; this year, they’ve sent me a box again, and this time the theme is Books For Your Desert Island, so the box was completely different, which was lovely.

I opened it with my mum, and we were both delighted. On top, surrounded by bright orange tissue paper, was a lovely little scroll of paper, tied with string, and a Books For Your Desert Island flyer. The scroll told me some of what was inside the box, but I didn’t read it until after I’d looked at everything (for maximum surprise fun!).

My two books were Wild by Cheryl Strayed, and Oh no, George! by Chris Haughton. Wild looks like the perfect book for me – a woman, on an adventure – and I can’t wait to get stuck in. Mum picked up Oh no, George! and read it aloud to me right away – it’s a lovely story which made us laugh, and the art is beautiful. Both would keep me busy and entertained for at least a while on a desert island!

I also got an exclusive Johanna Basford BAMB colouring pad. I’ve got Enchanted Forest and I love it, even when I go over the lines a bit – it’s therapeutic and creative without being as daunting as a blank page, or as boring as generic shapes, and keeps my mind and my hands occupied for quite a while at a time – so I’m looking forward to doing this. I might take it to work with me and see if the pupils (and staff!) want to colour in pages to stick around the library…

Continuing the desert island theme, I got an orange luggage tag, an orange passport case, a stick of rock and a tube of sand. There was also a book token, two new BAMB tote bags (one designed by Lauren Child, and the other by Grayson Perry), a BAMB tshirt (which will go beautifully with my new orange coat!), a BAMB mug (which I’m planning to use at work), a badge, some flyers and a balloon.

The box is absolutely delightful, and I’m really excited to play with everything (…except maybe the sand) while I think about my desert island reads (coming soon!).

What would you choose?

4 thoughts on “Books Are My Bag 2015: Books For Your Desert Island

Leave a Reply

