George wants to be good. He tries to be good. But he has just seen a cake in the kitchen… What will George do?

This year’s Books Are My Bag blogger box was themed around Desert Island Reads, and was personalised. Lauren got, amongst other things, a sketchbook and a novel in her box (watch her video here, it’s adorable, and I can confirm that we had a lovely time at the pub, drawing in her book and giggling), and mine had Wild and this, a children’s book. Absolutely, utterly perfect.

George is like every dog I have ever known. Sometimes he is very good, sometimes he tries very hard, but sometimes the temptation is just too much. Admittedly, most dogs I have known aren’t purple and orange, but that doesn’t mean a future dog won’t be, right? The art is beautiful, all colourful and bright and emotive. I’m a bit sad that there aren’t any very small people in my life – my nephew is onto big books now because he is big – so that I can give a copy to them (but not this one, which I will be keeping safe with my other treasured children’s books).

Oh No, George! also gets mentioned now and then in the Michalaks videos, an excellent vlogging family on YouTube. Georgie introduced me to them last week, and I am hooked. Their videos are gentle and soothing, and beautifully shot, and they seem like such lovely people, too. Their toddler, Grayson, likes Oh No, George! because he has excellent taste.

I wonder if Lauren’s new dog is going to be like George, too – her family rehomed a dog this week, a Bichon Frise called Bella, and she is a delight. We’re going to visit a friend for dinner this evening, and I’m picking Lauren up in the car partly so I can see the dog. I am transparent, but dogs are fun.

Leave a Reply

