New year, new reading challenge! I was going to do the Popsugar Reading Challenge 2016 but, to be honest, I doubt I’ll complete it, so when someone on twitter mentioned the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, I thought I’d give that a whirl instead. This one is sure to push me out of my comfort zone, and get me to read some of the books I already own – I got Sapiens in the book bundle that Books Are My Bag sent me in July, and haven’t read it yet, so hopefully this will be the nudge I need. As I did last year, I’ll be updating my list here as I go along.

If you’re doing either of these challenges, or any different ones, I’d love to follow along and compare notes with you, and if you’ve got any suggestions of books I could read for any of these then please do let me know.

  • read a horror book
  • read a nonfiction book about science
  • read a collection of essays
  • read a book out loud to someone else
  • read a middle grade novel
  • read a biography (not a memoir or autobiography)
  • read a dystopian or post-apocalyptic novel
  • read a book originally published in the decade you were born
  • listen to an audiobook that has won an Audie award
  • read a book over 500 pages long
  • read a book under 100 pages
  • read a book by or about someone who identified as transgender
  • read a book that is set in the Middle East
  • read a book that is by an author from Southeast Asia
  • read a book of historical fiction that is set before 1900
  • read the first book in a series by a person of colour
  • read a non-superhero comic that debuted in the last three years
  • read a book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie. Debate which is better
  • read a nonfiction book about feminism or dealing with feminist issues
  • read a book about politics, in your country or another
  • read a food memoir
  • read a play
  • read a book with a main character that has a mental illness

 

Leave a Reply

