I wasn’t really that into Star Wars. I saw the newer films at the cinema with my dad and brother, and Star Wars: Battlefront on Xbox was a staple, and I am the proud owner of some Star Wars print leggings which my mum absolutely hates, but I wouldn’t have called myself a fan as such. Then the trailer for the new film came out, and I cried. I was more eager to see it than my dad or my brother were, and I cried four times during it. I loved it.

So when I went to see Chloe on Monday, and she lent me Star Wars: Shattered Empire, I was excited (also because, as I’ve said before, recommendations from Chloe are always, without fail, worth listening to). I’ve had a busy week, so I was incredibly glad of the opportunity to crawl into bed this afternoon and read it from cover to cover.

Star Wars: Shattered Empire is a graphic novel, set between the events of Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens. While I’m not big on comics – the graphic novel category was one of the ones I didn’t manage to do in my reading challenge last year – I like them occasionally, and I really enjoyed this. It’s gorgeously drawn, with loads of movement, and brilliant characters.

All in all, this was a wonderful way to spend a couple of quiet hours on a Saturday afternoon.

One thought on “Star Wars: Shattered Empire

Leave a Reply

