This Saturday, 23rd April 2016, is the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death. Books Are My Bag are running a lovely campaign to celebrate the Bard, featuring their latest excellent tote bag (mine has elicited many odd looks). Check here for your nearest participating bookshop – there’s a map, and a search feature specifically for Shakespeare Saturday events.

I’ve put up a bunch of posters and banners around the school library where I work – with any luck, the banners between the shelves will make it easier for the countless pupils who ask where the Shakespeare books are…

It is also worth noting that my browser suggested 17 Shakespearean Insults To Use In Everyday Life, all of which are on pictures of cats. Very important indeed.

It’s my brother’s birthday this weekend, so I probably won’t make it to any of the events – though my local, the Bookseller Crow in Crystal Palace, is doing some really cool stuff – and I’m sad about it, but all the more reason for you to see what’s happening near you!

Print

 

One thought on “Shakespeare Saturday is almost here!

Leave a Reply

