The new school year started last week, so I’m back in central London after spending most of the holidays away. And, with that, comes the temptation of bookshops. I’m usually pretty good these days, but sometimes there’s a new release that I just can’t wait for. This week, there have been two such releases, leading to a rather substantial accidental haul.
img_4336

On Friday, I went to Gosh! Comics in Soho to pick up a copy of Queer: A Graphic History, which aims to make queer theory and queer history accessible to a wider audience. I read a good chunk of it at work on Saturday, and my friends and I agreed that it was digestible and good, which is pleasing as we’re also getting a copy for work! While I was there, I also got The Black Feather Falls, which is a 1920s murder mystery and looks like a lot of fun. I rarely read comics and graphic novels, but when I do, I enjoy them, so I’m hoping I’ll like this one.

 

Then on Monday, I went to Waterstones on my way home, to get Ann Patchett’s new novel, Commonwealth. I should wait until it’s in paperback, really, but I just can’t resist. State Of Wonder is one of my favourite books, and although I haven’t read any reviews, I’ve seen that Commonwealth seems to be being well-received, so I’m extremely excited for that. I also needed to get a copy of S E Hinton’s The Outsiders, which is the next book we’re reading at YA Book Club – I hadn’t even heard of it, but it sounds great from the introduction, and I’m excited to get stuck in. I picked up Grief Is The Thing With Feathers because I’ve seen lots of people talking about it, and I am easily intrigued. Then I got chatting to one of the booksellers, who told me that The Outrun is one of the best books he’s read in a long time, and that it’s just won the Wainwright Prize. His description made it sound wonderful, and as it’s set in Orkney, where I went this summer, I couldn’t resist. Not that I tried, particularly, if I’m honest… This does mean I need to go on a relative ban, so I can get through them all and rave about them to everyone I meet!
3 thoughts on “An accidental book haul for the new school year

Leave a Reply

