img_3588

I really enjoyed Love, Nina when it was dramatised for the BBC earlier this year, so I was delighted to discover that it was based on a book. I got it on my kindle for my summer holidays, and read it in Scotland in August. 

Nina Stibbe moved to London in the early 1980s and got a job as a nanny to a rather eccentric family. It’s a strange sort of book, for a strange sort of life, with all sorts of people drifting in and out of the house, and the story. It’s lovely, and funny, and poignant. I wish I’d had as good a relationship with the family I was an au pair for, though I suspect Nina and I are quite different people. The tv series is a lovely adaptation, though a lot of the details have been changed (for good reason). I really enjoyed both.

2016 reading challenge: read a book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie – well, I did this the wrong way round, and I loved both equally, for different reasons. Unhelpful, I know.

Leave a Reply

